Section
Drop element here

L'HISTOIRE DE KARINA

La Maison des Souris a été faite à la main par l'artiste Karina Schaapman (1960). Karina voulait créer un livre pour enfants. Non pas avec des illustrations, mais avec des photographies de scènes d'une maison miniature 3D faite à la main pour les souris. L'histoire de Sam et Julia était déjà écrite dans son esprit.

En 2008, Karina a commencé la construction de la toute première Maison des Souris.

Elle l'a construite à partir de boîtes en carton et de matériaux recyclés. Pièce par pièce, ce monde de souris est devenu plus grand et plus réaliste. Après trois ans de construction presque à plein temps, la première Maison des Souris a été achevée. La maison originale fait deux mètres de large et trois mètres de haut. En 2011, le rêve de Karina est devenu réalité. Sa Maison des Souris a été photographiée et le premier livre de la série La Maison des Souris a été publié : Sam et Julia.

À présent, vingt-deux livres ont été publiés, et la Maison des Souris originale est exposée dans la boutique La Maison des Souris et le mini-musée à Amsterdam.

Le monde de Karina

L'appartement de Julia est largement inspiré de la maison d'enfance de Karina. Cette maison, emplie d'amour et de créativité, constitue le fondement de La Maison des Souris. Beaucoup d'histoires de La Maison des Souris trouvent leur origine dans les souvenirs d'enfance de Karina. Elle est la fille d'une mère célibataire, immigrée d'Indonésie. L'atmosphère chaleureuse de leur maison contrastait fortement avec le monde extérieur, où Karina et sa mère étaient lourdement discriminées. Avec La Maison des Souris, Karina a créé un monde d'inclusivité et d'amitié, celui qu'elle désirait tant étant enfant.
Dans ses mots : « La Maison des Souris est le monde dans lequel je voudrais que chaque enfant grandisse. »

La Maison des Souris est...

...un refuge sûr
...un monde inclusif
...un lieu de curiosité
...une histoire d'amitié et de communauté

Une entreprise familiale

De nos jours, Karina n'est plus seule dans ses efforts pour diffuser la philosophie derrière La Maison des Souris. Depuis 2018, ses quatre enfants font largement partie de cette aventure. L'entreprise familiale La Maison des Souris s'emploie activement à réaliser le rêve de présenter Sam, Julia et leurs voisins au monde entier.

lisez plus sur l'entreprise familiale

Section
Drop element here

KARINA'S STORY

The Mouse Mansion was made by hand by artist Karina Schaapman (1960). Karina wanted to create a children's book. Not with illustrations, but with photographs of scènes from a handmade 3D miniature house made for mice. Sam and Julia's story was already written in her mind.

In 2008 Karina started building the very first mouse mansion

She built it out of cardboard boxes and recycled materials. Room by room this world of mice became larger en more realistic. After three years of building almost fulltime the first Mouse Mansion was completed. The original mansion is two meters wide and three meters tall. In 2011 Karina's dream became a reality. Her Mouse Mansion was photographed and the first book in The Mouse Mansion series was published: Sam en Julia.

Now there are twentytwo books published, and the original Mouse Mansion is on display in the Mouse Mansion shop & mini museum in Amsterdam.

Karina's world

Julia's appartement is largely based on Karina's childhood home. This home filled with love and creativity forms the foundation of the Mouse Mansion. Loads of Mouse Mansion stories find their origin in Karina's childhood memories. She is the daughter of a single mother, an immigrant from Indonesia. The loving atmosphere in their home was set in sharp contrast to the outside world, where both Karina and her mother were heavily discriminated against. With The Mouse Mansion Karina has created the world of inclusivity and friendship that she so desperately wanted as a child.

In her words: 'The Mouse Mansion is the world I would want every child to grow up in.'

The Mouse mansion is...

...a safe haven
...an inclusive world
....a place of curiosity
...a story of friendship and community

A VIDEO ABOUT KARINA

A family run company

These days Karina is not alone in her efforts to spread the philosophy behind The Mouse Mansion. Since 2018 her four children are a large part of this journey. Family run business The Mouse Mansion Company is actively pursuing dreams of introducing Sam, Julia and their neighbours to the whole world.

read more about the family business